Paratroopers Training School


CRESTThe squadron crest is awarded by the President of India to a particular squadron. The PTS squadron crest consists of the Asoka held resting atop a laurel wreath on a white back ground with the squadron insignia  displayed inside. The Ashoka head consists of four lions standing guard and facing mutually perpendicular directions of North, South, East and West. Only three lions are visible in the crest. The squadron insignia depicts a deployed parachute bringing down a supply container with wings attached. This signifies the role the squadron is involved in. the words "PARATROOPERS TRAINING SCHOOL" are inscribed on the top of the insignia and the words "INDIAN AIR FORCE" inscribed on the bottom half.

At the bottom of the crest is inscribed the squadron motto in sanskrit "SAAHAS KAUSHALAM BALAM"literally meaning courage skill, strength. These words exemplify the traits of every person belonging to this unit.


History of squadronThe history of 'Sky Hawks' spanning over half century now, dates back to the days of the second world war. In Oct 1941, the 50th Independence Para Brigade was formed with HQ in Delhi and simultaneously AirLanding School was formed at Willingdon (now Safdarjung) Airport, New Delhi. Two Indians were included in the Brigade for initial paratrooping. The first being 2nd Lt (Dr) Rangarajan and the second Havaldar Hukum Singh.

History of squadronIn 1942 the Air Landing School was rechristened as No 3 PTS, AF and moved to Chaklala (Rawalpindi) now in Pakistan. Between 1942 and 1947 No 3 PTS had a number of RAF officers and NCO instructors. Several Indian and Gorkha instructors were also empoyed. No 215 Sqn which operated Wellingtons from Rawalpindi was employed inparatroping Gorkha troops.

History of squadronIn 1944 Dakota aircraft in addition to the Valencia Hudson Wellington and Helifax aircraft were also used in paratrooping.

History of squadronIn 1947, the Partition of India led to the Indian element of 12 PJI's along with twelve alongwith thirty eight U/T  PJI's under Sqn Ldr TS Gopalan to move to Agra. PTS in its present location came into being and training continued.


The squadron took part in various operational assignments as well and when it was called upon to do so. Some important assignments were:

  • Indo-Pak Conflict 1965 ~ PTS carried out support missions, flying and supplying AD guns to Jamnagar and Jodhpur
  • 1971 Conflict ~ Sqn operated from Phaphamu Airfield and carried out training of pilots for day and night formation. PTS took part in the airborne assualt of Tangail in Bangladesh on 11 Dec 1971
  • Siachen ~ The unit was called upon to undertake supply drop missions to Siachen Glacier. PTS continued supply drops till the end of 1986.
  • Sri Lanka ~ On 04 Jun 1987 the unit had the privilege of executing relief supply drops during the seige of Jaffna. Over twenty three tones were dropped over a DZ. next to Jaffna
  • Operation Pawan (IPKF Ops) ~ The unit took an active part in Operation Pawan maintaining two to five aircraft detachments at Bangalore, Sulur and Tambram. PTS operated at seven different bases of Srilanka to airlift IPKF jawans.
  • Operation Cactus (Maldives) ~ On the night of 03 Nov 89, this unit alongth the rest of the fleet was to mobilise troops for Op Cactus. This unit launched eight aircraft with troops for Op Cactus. This launched eight aircraft with troops to Male. A total of forty sorties were flown for induction of troops.
  • PTS   has indeed come a long way from its humble beginnings. In recognition of exemplary service, the squadron was awarded the Presidents Standard by His Excellency, The President of India, Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma on the occasion of its Golden Jubilee in Nov 1994.

Squadron operationsSquadron operations



Sqn Ldr M Vanian PJI 1968
Flt Lt P Venugopal PJI 1982


MWO Venkatachalam PJI 1973


Flt Lt CBJ Alexander Med 1953
MWO Venkatachalam PJI 1969
Sqn Ldr M Vania PJI 1971
Flt Lt Dhingra PJI 1973
Sqn Ldr SH Pednekar F (P) 1974
Flt Lt Saxena PJI 1974
MWO Ghosh RK PJI 1974
Wg Cdr S Chand F (P) 1975
MWO Muthane MP F/E 1975
WO Cruz L PJI 1975
Sqn Ldr SH Paniker F (P) 1975
WO (HFO) KN Nair F/E 1982
WO Qutubuddinc S PJI 1985
Wg Cdr Sodhi F (P) 1986
MWO Sandhu PJI 1988
Wg Cdr Mandhir Singh F (P) 1992
MWO Shaan PJI 1994
Gp Capt VS Govindrajan F (P) 1974


Sgt Puran Singh F II A 1965
WO Bhagat Singh PJI 1974